Andrew Pryfogle: 各位好,欢迎回来!今天来了一位厉害人物,Aryaka首席架构师Jig。欢迎!

Jig: 谢谢Andrew,最近都好吗?

Andrew Pryfogle: 都还不错 我懂一点技术但确实是视觉型的,我们很多合作商也是。我们想了解如何接入Aryaka网络,还有在边缘有哪些不同的方式来。我在想如果你能给我们画个图会有很有帮助,你介意吗?

Jig: 当然没问题。

Andrew Pryfogle: 太好了,我交给你。

Jig: 非常感谢。

Andrew Pryfogle: 给大家大致介绍下我们的客户是如何接入到Aryaka平台的。

Jig: 当然,在此之前,我想稍微介绍一下我们的产品。你也知道,Aryaka有一个SDN平台,对吧。叫做SMART SDN平台,在这个智能平台里,我们有编排层,应用加速,优化,24*7的技术支持,一切都建立在全球最好的网络上,有冗余的私有网络。然后我们让我们提供SMART CDN,SMART CONNECT的服务,在SMART CONNECT 产品组中有个广域网优化即服务,我们将要讨论的就是这个。我们的广域网优化即服务是为国际企业、大型企业的各个办公室,很多数据中心,很多云应用,很多SaaS提供的广域网服务。今天要讲的就是怎么样利用Aryaka广域网优化即服务来使自己更有优势,还有我们的服务怎么好用。 可以先讨论下三种不同的接入方式, 总共大概有9到10个不同的接入方式。

基本上不同的需求或者不同的客户要求都可能会对应一个不同的接入方式。要做接入的时候,我们会帮助你弄清楚是哪一种。这些是大部分客户现在用到的比较简单的接入。第一种要谈到的接入,基本上就是使用你自己的防火墙。很简单,你有你自己的互联网连接。互联网进入你的防火墙,我们要做的就是从你们防火墙到Aryaka POP点建一个VPN通道,这样就搞定了。

我们会在几小时内将网络打通,当然我们的官方说法是24小时,但实际上,你真的需要更快,说一声就可以了。我记得,2013年刚加入Aryaka做销售的时候,有个客户找到我们,他们说,我有个问题,我需要连接以色列和波士顿,而且现在马上就要。我们只用了3个小时就把网络搭建起来了,他们很喜欢,从那以后就一直是我们的客户。

Andrew Pryfogle: 太好了,就算是24小时也已经非常快了,如果是MPLS,用小时去计算简直是荒唐的。

Jig: 是这样的,我们已经习以为常了,而且现在技术工程师还在比谁更快,谁能更快启动,简直太棒了。这是最简单的连接方式,这可以给你很好的优化网络,全球网络,除了压缩和重复数据删除之外的所有服务都可以享受到。因为这些需要所在地的马力和CPU。下一个就讲这个。

我们要讲的是如何用Aryaka设备来连接到我们的网络。叫做Aryaka网络访问点(ANAP)。这是一个RU深度的设备,可以在一个2 post 或4 post 的机柜。所有你有自己的互联网连接,可以是任何方式,任何形式我们都能支持。我们可以把它们合成,也能使它主动或者被动。你的互联网进入到你的防火墙,最简单的接入方式就是把ANAP配置在防火墙的一个端口上。这样就行了。当流量进入你的局域网的防火墙,基本上会通过我们的ANAP 因为它会辨别到这是要发往远程站点或者云应用的流量,它能知道通过静态路由或者路由器可以动态地从我们的ANAP更新到防火墙,以便让防火墙知道要往哪里发送流量。

ANAP会把流量进行压缩,重复数据删除,优化它,提供QoS,如果你是做音频,视频或者遥现,就会被发送回相同的交互点,Aryaka POP,这就是如何连接的。这种连接会要4到5个工作日,在美国大概2到3个工作日,因为设备的寄送会更快。但是如果你在中国或者印度,当然各地也有一定的库存,但如果在教较偏远的地区,可能会花上5天,有些地方的海关真的很麻烦,你也知道。

Andrew Pryfogle: 现在就是长距离的时候把盒子寄到客户地点的时间的问题。

Jig: 是的,应该是几天的问题,而且你知道,很多客户选择的方式就是他们把防火墙启动起来,ANAP寄出来,线路照常用, 会有优化的链接,性能和效率都在,当ANAP到的时候接入它,立马就可以了。

Andrew Pryfogle: 太棒了,安装ANAP很容易吗?

Jig: 是的,很容易,不到一个小时就可以安装好。事实上有些客户都是自己在做,都不用找我们。这些客户收到ANAP,配置好启动,给我们Support发个邮件,说我们已经配置到了,告诉Aryaka确认下就可以了,就这么简单。

Andrew Pryfogle: 正如你刚刚说到的,互联网连接有很多种,有哪些不同类型呢,有一些速度或者类型的限制吗?

Jig: 没有限制,你可以用任何类型的互联网连接,你可以用1Gb互联网带宽,2G,3Gb,我还没有见到过,但是都不重要,你可以使用任何类型的互联网连接,我们可以将2个互联网连接合成,让它可以以主动-被动的方式使用或者主动-主动。

Andrew Pryfogle: 明白了,所以界面是ANAP,难道是以太网?

Jig: 完全正确。

Andrew Pryfogle: 你可以在不同的互联网连接上输出流量,最终会走在Aryaka 最近的POP点。

Jig: 对的,一条隧道。如果你有两个激活的线路,那会有两个激活的隧道。

Andrew Pryfogle: 了解。

Jig: 你要访问一个数据中心,没有问题,你想要访问Azure或AWS –都是Aryaka合作伙伴, 你得到一个VPC,得到一个Azure 服务器,一条隧道就够用了。你有语音或遥现, 没关系,所有的都配置了QoS。这些事情的流量管理很头疼,你觉得你必须去做的,现在就不用了。给它们进行预定义,所以你会知道如何预测,我们会代您管理好、处理好。

Andrew Pryfogle: 太好了,还有第三种可以接入你们的方式。

Jig: 当然。是我们客户最不常用到的方式,因为是用专线连接到我们的POP点。本质上的实现方式就是,客户有局域网,对吧,有防火墙,不用互联网,客户找了一个服务供应商在跟我们的POP之间拉了一条点到点的专线。这是连接的方式,同样的,如果需要的话用ANAP,或者不用ANAP直接通过专线到我们的POP点。1%以下的客户使用这种方式。

Andrew Pryfogle: 一般是什么样的应用场景才会想要用这种方式呢?

Jig: 一般情况下,我是某个客户,有500个呼叫中心,对吧?我就是不想用互联网,就算我知道用Aryaka,互联网也没问题。我觉得更多的是一种心理上的安全感。实际上我以前负责Aryaka呼叫中心,用的就是自己的网络,没有问题,我也有做呼叫中心,IP语音,遥现的客户用我们,他们对我们的解决方案和服务很满意。

Andrew Pryfogle: 明白,太棒了!所以我们讨论了如何连接到这个神奇的平台,用Aryaka所提供的SMART SDN WAN 优化方案。

Jig: 对的 所以今天所讲的都是最常用的,覆盖我们所有的SMART CONNECT产品组的方案,这是我们的一个高端服务,客户是觉得真的很实用,所以都在用。我们叫它高端其实也并不贵。

Andrew Pryfogle: 太好了。快速总结一下,第一个就是我们可以在几小时内将边缘通过公共互联网连接起来。第二种是我们可以用ANAP,收到后连接到防火墙上,连接到你们的POP点,还是互联网,第三种情况不常见,我可以从我的站点通过ANAP直接点对点连接到你们的网络,或者是不用ANAP,用点对点连接到你们最近的POP点。你们好像正在开始第4种连接方案,这样你们可以更灵活,更好控制,跟我说说是什么。

Jig: 是的!这是我们最新的一个功能,我们刚刚说的是现在做的一些标准化的东西。我们现在有一个叫SMART EDGE的新服务。Smart Edge 可以让站点摆脱掉防火墙,路由器等。

你拿到这个ANAP,然后直接连接到互联网,我来快速让你看下这是怎么运行的。这是你拿到的ANAP,它可以接受多条互联网连接,通过以太网传递过去,你可以把ANAP连接到你的局域网,然后它会管理你从局域网到互联网的流量,它可以限制互联网和在Aryaka上的流量。所以从客户的角度来看就再也没有带宽管理的头疼问题,因为Aryaka会帮你做。你有一个新的站点,多个互联网接入,放个ANAP,预定义哪些是用来做QoS和应用程序的流量,要多少互联网,我有10Gb 互联网,6Gb还是公共互联网,4Gb给Aryaka,就这样,全都搞定了。

所以5天以内,你的站点就能启动并且运行,私有网络可以用来做云,SaaS,语音,视频,数据都被优化,效率都在掌控之中。

Andrew Pryfogle: 很棒,客户内部部署中有了ANAP,实时决定需要哪些流量,平衡一些流量到特定的应用或者特定的连接。很完美。

Jig: 它都能实现这些,而且它还有基本的防火墙功能。如果你想要,可以为你做端口转发,可以为你做网络地址转换。都取决于客户自己想怎么配置他的站点。

Andrew Pryfogle: 我默认ANAP可以跟一个现有的内部防火墙合成,也可以用作防火墙。

Jig: 完全正确,你提到了一个非常好的点,我曾经跟一个客户讨论这个解决方案,他说,Jig,我知道你们有了这样一个防火墙,我知道你们用ANAP连接到互联网,但是你知道我们公司有一些规定,我要用一个特定的安全设置,要用一个特定安全的防火墙。这些都取决于你,例如我有个客户有个Palo Alto防火墙,我们聊到这个方案,我说你能把防火墙设置成通透模式么,因为它确实可以做我的APP ID,Palo Alto能提供的所有识别功能它都能做,所以他们就在想做同样的事情,在流量指向ANAP的时候,将Palp Alto设置成并网通透模式,他们就能够按照自己想要的方式管理安全性,同时也能充分使用Aryaka的服务。

Andrew Pryfogle: 明白,我很喜欢你们能有这么多灵活的解决方案。
Jig: 我现在讲的都还只是皮毛,它可以用来做流量管控,你可以在两个链接之间加载分享,你可以复制,可以用来做FEC,做前向错误更正,在此之上,你可以对流量路径进行选择。所以你对你的流量运行有充足的灵活性。

Andrew Pryfogle: 很好。

Jig: 你再也不用担心你们的广域网。

Andrew Pryfogle: 好的,今天回答了很多的问题,这些图形包含了几千个字的信息,Jig,真的非常感谢,非常好的东西。也希望这些对各位有帮助。去看看Aryaka的学习中心,深挖掘,去了解他们是怎么运作这些东西的,还有可以用这个下一代网络解决方案 来解决哪些问题。

Andrew Pryfogle: OK guys, back here in the studio with a smart guy here. Jig, who is the Principal architect at Aryaka. Welcome man!

Jig: Thank you, Thank you. Andrew, how are you?

Andrew Pryfogle: I am great man, I am great. Hey listen, I think I am sort of technical, but definitely a visual guy and I know a lot of partners who are visual guys. We start to look at how people connect to the Aryaka network, and what are all the different ways that the solution can be delivered at the edge to the customer. I thought it would be helpful to have you draw some pictures, do you mind?

Jig: Absolutely

Andrew Pryfogle: Alright, very cool. Here you go man, I will give you this.

Jig: Thank you so much.

Andrew Pryfogle: Give us an idea of how customers at the edge ultimately connect to the Aryaka platform.

Jig: Absolutely. So, but before I do that, I do want to talk a little bit more about the product. So you know, Aryaka has an SDN platform.  It’s called the SMART SDN platform. Within that SMART SDN platform, we have an orchestration layer, we have application acceleration, optimization, 24×7 support, all of it built on a global best of the breed network around the world, redundant private network. That then allows us to deliver SMART CDN, SMART CONNECT and within the SMART CONNECT part of the family is WAN Optimization-as-a-service, which is what we are going to talk about. Our WAN Optimization-as-a-service is a solution that delivers WAN-as-a-service for enterprises; big enterprises, that are global. Big offices. A lot of data centers. A lot of cloud and SaaS. So what we are going to talk about today is how you leverage Aryaka’s WAN optimization-as-a-service to your advantage. And how easy it is for you to turn up and start using our services. So what we are going to talk about is three different insertions. By the way, we have close to 9 or 10 different insertions.

So we have got an insertion on every need, or on every customer demand out there. So if you have an insertion, talk to us, we will figure it out. These are the simpler insertions that most of the customers use out there. The first insertion is basically using your own firewall. So very simply, you have your Internet connection. That Internet comes into your firewall, and all you have to do is build a VPN tunnel, from your firewall into the Aryaka POP, and that’s it!

Off you go and we can get this up for you within hours. Of course our standard time we publish is 24 hours, but literally, really if you have that dire of a need, let us know. I remember, back in my early days of selling at Aryaka in 2013, I had a customer that came to us, and they said, “look – I have got a problem. I need to communicate from Israel to Boston, and I need to do it now.” Right? And we had them up within 3 hours and they just loved it, and they have been our customer since.

Andrew Pryfogle: Great, but even 24 hours is impressive. In the world of global MPLS, to measure anything in hours is ridiculous.

Jig: I know, right?  We used to compete. The SE’s would compete and say – “Hey! Who can turn up faster?”  It’s so amazing. So, this is one of the simplest ways to connect. This gives you pretty much optimized network, global network, all of those services that you need, except for compression and deduplication. Because, of course, you need on-site horse power and CPU for that. So we are going to talk about that next.

So, we are going to talk about now connecting to our network using Aryaka’s device. It’s called an Aryaka Network Access Point (ANAP). It’s a 1 RU depth device that can sit on a two post or a four post rack, and basically this is how it works. You have your Internet connection, and by the way, you can have multiples of these, in any of these scenarios, and we will support both of them. We can aggregate them, we can also make them active and passive. So you have your Internet pipe coming into your firewall, and the simplest kind of an insertion would be where the ANAP sits one arm off your firewall. That’s it. And when the traffic hits from your LAN to your firewall, it basically goes to our ANAP, because it knows it’s traffic destined for a remote site, or a cloud. And this is something that it can know by static routing. Or the routes can be dynamically updated from our ANAP into the firewall, so that the firewall knows where to send the traffic.

The ANAP will then take that traffic, compress it, deduplicate it, optimize it, QoS it. If you’re doing voice, video or telepresence, it will send it back out to the same interface to our POP, and that’s how you connect. This takes about 4-5 business days. In the US, it takes us less than 2-3 days, because the shipments are very quick. But if you are somewhere in China or India. By the way, we have shipping depots all over. But if you are in these remote places, then it may take 5 days. And some places we really have bad customs, you know?

Andrew Pryfogle: So now it’s just a matter of the time it takes to install. Is that the long haul, the tenure, how long it takes to ship that box to the customer location?

Jig: Oh yes. It should be a matter of days, and you know what, a lot of customers, what they choose to do is turn up their firewall, get the ANAP shipped out, so they are not down. They are getting optimized connectivity. Their performance and productivity is going, and when the ANAP comes in, they insert the ANAP and boom! That’s it!

Andrew Pryfogle: Perfect, how easy is it to install the ANAP?

Jig: Oh very easy. It takes less than an hour. In fact, some customers do it on their own. They don’t even call us anymore. So we have customers that will just order the ANAP. They will get it configured, turn it up, and they will email Aryaka support – “hey guys, I have turned it up, can you confirm?” Aryaka says – confirmed! Boom! That’s how simple it is.

Andrew Pryfogle: In that design, you talk about disparate Internet connections. How many different Internet connections?  Is there any sort of speed limitation, or types of Internet connections that it’s limited to?

Jig: No. You can have any sort of Internet links. You can have a gig Internet link. You can have a 2 gigs, 3 gigs. I haven’t seen them but you know it doesn’t matter. You can have any sort of Internet links, and we can aggregate up to two Internet links that you have. And be able to use in either active-passive fashion, or we can use them in an active-active fashion.

Andrew Pryfogle: Got it, so the interface to your ANAP is probably Ethernet?

Jig: Exactly.

Andrew Pryfogle: And you can send that traffic over disparate Internet connections. Ultimately at the nearest Aryaka POP.

Jig: That is correct. And a single tunnel. If you have two actives, then two actives tunnels take care of everything.

Andrew Pryfogle: Ya, got it!

Jig: You need to contact your data center, not a problem. You want to contact Azure, which we are a partner of, or Amazon which we are a partner of; you have a VPC; you have got an Azure instance, the same tunnel allows you to do that. You have voice, telepresence? It doesn’t matter. And all of it is QoS-ed. So traffic management, and those headaches that you are thinking you have to do, you don’t have to. Predefine them, so you know that it is predictable. We will manage it for you, and we will take care of it for you.

Andrew Pryfogle: Fantastic, there is a third way to connect to you guys.

Jig: Absolutely. This is least used by our customers. Why? Because you know it’s basically a private link to our POP. The way it essentially works is, you got your LAN. The customer has their firewall, and instead of Internet, they use a service provider to pull in a P-to-P link into our POP, and there you go! That’s how you connect into it. You can once again, have an ANAP if you want, or you can choose not to have an ANAP. And just use that straight private link to our POP. Less than 1% of our customers use this.

Andrew Pryfogle: In what application would somebody want to use this?

Jig: It’s usually, I am a customer, I’ve got 500 call center agents, right? I just do not want to do the Internet. Even though I know it works with Aryaka. You know, it’s kind of a safety net kind of psychology, what I feel. Technically, I used to run a call center on Aryaka, and I had no problems. And I got customers doing call center and Voice over IP over us, telepresence over us. They just rave about our solution and service.

Andrew Pryfogle: Got it, Fantastic, Very cool! So that’s how you connect to this amazing dynamic platform that we are talking about, this SMART SDN WAN optimization solution that Aryaka provides.

Jig: That is correct. So what we talked about today, the one that covers all of our solutions, in one as far as SMART CONNECT family of products are concerned, is the most premium solution most of our customers use, because it really works for them, right. We call it premium, but it’s really not.

Andrew Pryfogle: Alright, so that’s fascinating. So, just review really quick. I can connect over the public Internet without any sort of device at the edge. And I can do that literally in hours. I can have an ANAP shipped to me, right?  And have that connected via my firewall, and with the connection back to your PoP, again over the public Internet. The third, which is very uncommon, is that I could have a direct point-to-point connectivity to your network from my ANAP at my location, or without a ANAP. But a point-to-point connection to your nearest POP. You also have a fourth way to do it, which is a way that is kind of taking off right now. Because it gives you even more flexibility, even more control over your network. Talk about how that works.

Jig: Absolutely! It’s the newest feature. So what we talked about was the standard stuff that we have been doing. Now, what we have, is what we call a SMART EDGE. Smart Edge now takes the need for having a firewall, a router, or any of that at the site, away.

You can take that ANAP, and directly put it on the Internet. So, let me kind of quickly show you what it looks like. So, you have your ANAP here, and it can now accept multiple Internet links with Ethernet hand offs into it, and then it can connect into your LAN, and it will manage the traffic flow, from your LAN to the Internet. It will rate limit the traffic to the Internet, as well as Aryaka. So, from a customer’s perspective, bandwidth management is no longer a headache, because Aryaka is doing it for me. So, if I have a new site, I get a couple of Internet links. I throw an ANAP out there. I predefine what I want from my quality of service and my application flow. How much I want for the Internet. I got 10 megs Internet. So, 6 to the Internet, 4 to Aryaka. Off you go! You are done.

So within 5 days you got a site up and working. Private network that can do cloud, SaaS, Voice, Video, data all optimized, managing your productivity.

Andrew Pryfogle: Very cool, with the ANAP, at the customers prem now, making those real-time decisions about all the traffic, and to do that, and a certain amount of balance for certain applications or certain connectivity. That’s perfect. Awesome!

Jig:  It’s all taken care of at that point. And then it also has a basic firewalling capability. So, it can give you port forwarding, it can do NATing for you, if you want to do that. So, it’s all up to the customer as to how they want to configure that site.

Andrew Pryfogle: So I am assuming that ANAP can integrate with an existing on-site firewall, or also sounds like it can also serve as the firewall.

Jig: Absolutely, it’s a very good point that you bring up.  So, I was discussing this with one of my customers, this solution. And essentially what they said was – Hey Jig, I know you have a firewall. I know you have your ANAP that can sit on the Internet. But, you know that we have a policy with our company. Where I want to use a certain security setup, and I want to use a certain security firewall, no problem. All you do is put, for example, this customer had a Palo Alto firewall. And we talked about it, and I said, “you can put your firewall in a transparent mode, because absolutely it does my app id. All of the identification capability that Palo Alto provides it can do.” So, what they are thinking of, is they are going to do the same thing. And they are going to put the Palo Alto in-line in transparent mode as the traffic is heading to the ANAP, so that they can maintain the security the way they want it, and leverage the full suite of Aryaka service.

Andrew Pryfogle: Got it, very cool. I love the amount of flexible solution you guys have.

Jig: Ya, I haven’t even scratched the surface. You can control your traffic flows. You can load share them between the two links. You can replicate them. You can also do FEC – forward error correction. And on top of that, you can also do selection of path for your traffic. So, you have full flexibility on what you want to do with your traffic flow, and you are done.

Andrew Pryfogle: Very cool.

Jig: Your WAN is taken care of.

Andrew Pryfogle: Very cool, Ok guys that answers a lot of questions. Pictures are worth a thousand words. And Jig, I really appreciate that man, that’s good stuff. Guys, I hope it’s helpful. Check out the learning center here for Aryaka, and go deep there and learn about how they are delivering this stuff, and the problems that you can solve with this next generation networking solution. Good Selling!