Andrew Pryfogle:欢迎回到佩塔卢马工作室,今天来的是Aryaka CTO Ashwath Nagaraj。Aryaka是我们推荐的下一代广域网供应商。欢迎!

Ashwath Nagaraj:很高兴能来到这里。

Andrew Pryfogle:广域网进入了一个全新的阶段,在彻底发生变化。我们和合作伙伴在这个领域也建立了很多生意,围绕MPLS网络和全球网络。Aryaka在做的事情真的是突破性的。先跟我们说说这些改变发生的原因是什么,是什么驱使您在几年前参与创立Aryaka。背后的原因是什么?

Ashwath Nagaraj:源头说起,是互联网。再往上,是全球化及其对企业的影响等等 连接的需求,互联网的灵活性,企业的增长速度,尤其是你在中国设立公司,一开始25个人,你要扩充到250个人,你对灵活性有需求。互联网提供灵活性但可惜它不提供工作效率。整体都在变化,互联网和全球化。

互联网促进应用程序从内部向云迁移。把这些放在一起再讨论你需要什么样的解决方案去替代MPLS,互联网,互联网上的低生产力等等。这是我们真正开始的地方。

Andrew Pryfogle:明白了。多年来我们能在公众互联网上部署VPN,甚至国际网络也尝试理论上用VPN来替代MPLS网络。VPN方案的不足之处在哪里,有什么不同?

Ashwath Nagaraj:2000年的时候,我跟几个合伙人创立了一间公司,建立互联网VPN,这家公司后来被思科收购了,很多产品也被集成到今天思科的产品中去。思科一直以来都有一个非常好的互联网VPN解决方案。问题是VPN解决方案可以提供连接性但是不能给你想要的网络性能。

比如说有个用户在用MPLS网络,跟他们的服务器相连接,就会得到一个类似于局域网的性能,再加上一些传统的广域网优化设备,Riverbed等等,然后你感觉很好,工作效率很高,但突然间一迁移到互联网。效率立马降低了,对吧?这就是挑战。从内部部署到云,从交易到线上交易,从Lync到Office 365 Lync。区别是戏剧性的,以致于没有一个解决方案你就得几乎放弃过渡到Office 365,而且很多公司都遇到了这样的问题。问题是:互联网具有极大灵活性但是性能差。

Andrew Pryfogle:你提到了Office 365,是当今市场很有趣的驱动者。因为微软实际上是在要求客户转移到Office 365。基本上是迫使改变。很多公司都未必做好准备了,这也给你们提供了一个很大的机会。

Ashwath Nagaraj:这是一个很好的机会,事实上我会说网络是云增长和Saas应用的最大障碍。在一个小的区域,比如说你在圣何塞有两个办公室,你切换到Office 365,你的数据可能托管在西雅图数据中心,这样是可以的,对吧?如果说有这两个办公室在圣何塞但是想在中国设立一个办公室,那一切都坏了。给你一个很好的例子。我们有一个有名的半导体公司客户,我不能说名字。他们在部署Office 365, 全公司大概有25000员工。他们从美国开始部署,一切都很顺利。原因是什么呢?他们需要将内部管理的Exchange和办公软件等等转移到一个管理成本低很多的SaaS方案:Office 365

到这里他们都实现了目标,他们开始向美国本土以外推广,去法国,一开始都还不错,虽然断过几次,但是没什么太大问题,然后,他们转移到印度和中国,那一刻他们说我们是不是要回头想想,因为这行不通,不是吗?某个星期五他们来找我们谈,紧接着周一就做了测试。就是这样。他们在线买了一个5000用户的中国天津办公室,用来测试。我说好,来测吧。第第一天,他们测了750个用户,第二天大概在2500个用户,周五他们就准备签约了。现在也能说Office 365是完全可以用的。

其实真正的问题是用户在使用这些应用的时候已经习惯了特定的质量和效率。你现在要把这个拿走,是不能接受的。如果你以前的标准很低那也无所谓,但是MPLS把标准提高了,就算你现在迁移到SaaS也要一样的体验。而且这其实是我们最大的客户之一,成为我们客户已经两年了,一年半后可能会有10000个用户,在中国、以色列、法国 等国家的员工会使用我们的网络,就是同样的问题。

Andrew Pryfogle:关键是大家可能会误解,这不仅仅是搭建在互联网层上的一个独特技术,里面还有很多的秘诀。 平台的中心有一个全球核心私有网络。跟我们说说有什么不同。

Ashwath Nagaraj:这样想,你可以建一条高速公路到你家房子,再建一条连到另外一个房子。我们所做的是提供一个高速公路系统,你可以连接并匝道驶入,匝道是互联网,有灵活性,高速路很死板但是速度很快。所以,我们在全球各地部署POP点,染企业用户离我们POP只有20,30,或40毫秒。一小段灵活的互联网连接,远距离走核心私有网络,而且这个网络根本的价值在于建立在平台之上的软件,软件让一切都变得简单灵活,你今天想要10MB,明天又想加到100MB,打个电话,立马就能实现。你想要加一个云服务,只要点点鼠标,就连接到云服务了。所以这个平台由一个核心私有网络,全球POP点和在服务器上运行的软件组成,你们经常说的COTS,其实是个畅销硬件,我们用X86服务器就可以了。

我们正在努力改变这一整套的自定义建造的模型。你有一个网络,你要做什么?你要用MPLS,MPLS是什么?你看到服务供应商,去思科和瞻博买一些盒子,现在要增加一个服务,再去买其他的盒子然后把它们物理连接起来。他们以每个用户、每个客户为基础。

我们需要一个模式,所有服务都能在软件平台上运行。第三方可以开发自己的服务,你有一个供应商过来跟你说我们有一个很好的远程访问解决方案,太好了,部署到Aryaka全球平台上来,然后把这个服务提供给任何一个想要移动用户快速进入他们网络的企业。这就是平台的力量,让新的服务能够进入,这也是云的方式。所以这是真正的网络云模式。这样说吧。访问,灵活性,像传统刚性的网络提供的性能一样好,大家用得开心,并随着时间的推移和新服务的增长而发展

Andrew Pryfogle:我有个女儿在上大学,从小到大,她每天离开家去学校的时候我总会跟她说,我说孩子,改变世界,不要有压力。对于广域网,你们所提供的服务是颠覆性的,你们改变了网络部署的游戏规则,影响是巨大的。

Ashwath Nagaraj:没错,这也是它的乐趣所在吧。很有意思而且真正的障碍不是它是否应该在这里,而是像回到90年底末的ASP模型一样,这是一个思维模式的转变,对吧?有些人已经习惯了他们已经买的硬件,他们曾经做个决策,资金投进去了,你要改变他们的想法,告诉他们不管怎样这都在发生。你做还是不做,对吧?做到这点花费了很多年,但是现在开始发生了。这是一个滚石,真的停不下来。

Andrew Pryfogle:太棒了,多好的解说。真的很高兴能够了解下一代广域网能如何解决实际问题,绝对是突破性的。各位,请关注Aryaka。生意兴隆。

Andrew Pryfogle: Alright. Welcome back to the studio in Petaluma. Sitting here with the CTO, Ashwath Nagaraj from Aryaka. One of our go to suppliers for this next generation WAN stuff that we all are excited about. Welcome!

Ashwath Nagaraj: Great to be here!

Andrew Pryfogle: This is a really fascinating time when it comes to wide area networking, and it’s completely changing around us. So, you know we kind of built this whole business, this community has such an enormous book of business around MPLS networks and global networks. What you guys are doing at Aryaka truly is disruptive. Talk to us first about what’s causing this change. What was driving you to help found this company years ago? What was the reason behind all this?

Ashwath Nagaraj: At the lowest level, it’s the Internet. At a level beyond that, its globalization, and its impact on all enterprises and so on. Their connectivity needs, the flexibility of the Internet, growth speeds of enterprises, especially if you start an office in China. You start with 25 people, you want to go to 250 people, you have a need for flexibility. Internet offers that flexibility, but unfortunately it doesn’t offer the productivity. So, a whole suite of changes. The Internet and globalization.

The Internet has also facilitated a lot of applications moving out from your premises into the cloud. So, I would say put all of that stuff together, and say what solution do you need to replace the current combination of MPLS, Internet, poor productivity on the Internet, etc. That’s really what we started addressing.

Andrew Pryfogle: Got it. So, for years we have had the ability of doing the VPN over the public Internet, and maybe even a global network trying to use VPN as kind of a base technology that would replace in theory my MPLS network. What are the shortfalls of VPN solutions, and how is this different?

Ashwath Nagaraj: Back in about 2000, I joined with a few others and started a company that built Internet VPNs. And the company was actually acquired by Cisco, and some of the products that we did are actually integrated into Cisco products today. Cisco has always had a very good Internet VPN solution. What’s the problem with an Internet VPN solution? It provides connectivity, but does not give you the kind of performance you need.

You take a user, they are on an MPLS network, they were connected into their servers, they got LAN like performance, they put in traditional WAN optimization appliances, Riverbed, so on and so forth, and they were feeling really good and productive, and suddenly you put them on to the Internet. I mean, productivity went straight down. Right? That’s the challenge. From on prem to the cloud, move from exchange to exchange online, you moved from Lync to Lync through Office 365. The difference is so dramatic, that without a solution you almost have to give up your plans to transition to Office 365, and there are many companies that have had this problem. Great flexibility with the Internet, poor performance.

Andrew Pryfogle: You bring up the Office 365 angle, that’s a really interested driver in our market right now. Because Microsoft is actually dictating that customers move to Office 365. I mean they are forcing that change. Yet, the network is not necessarily ready for it, for a lot of companies. That must present a huge opportunity for you.

Ashwath Nagaraj: That is a huge opportunity, and in fact, I will say that the biggest barrier to the growth of cloud, SaaS applications is the network, and in small regional places. Let’s say that you had two offices, both in San Jose. You switch to Office 365, your data is hosted maybe in a Seattle data center, you are ok. Right? Take somebody who says, alright I got these two offices. But, I want to open an office in China, everything breaks down. I will give you a very good example. We had a marquee brand name semiconductor company, I can’t go to the name. They actually started a deployment of Office 365. It’s probably about a 25,000-person company. They started the deployment across the US. – Beautiful! What was driving it?  The need to switch from on prem managed Exchange and Office, and so on and so forth. To a much lower management SaaS solution, Office 365.

So far, they have met their objective, they start the rollout outside the continental US, going to France alright, the first hiccups start. You know what, we have some outages, but we are ok. Then they move to India and China, and at that point they are at a situation where they say, do we need to roll this whole thing back, because it doesn’t work?  They actually talked to us on a Friday, and we went on a trial on the same Monday. It was a last ditch effort. They brought online a 5000 user office in Tianjin China, just as a test. I said, “oh we’ve got to just throw everything at it.” They start first day with 750 users, the next day it’s about 2500, and by Friday they were ready to sign. Because they said, I mean, look we have actually now been able to say that Office 365 actually works.

You know what happened really, is that the users were used to a certain quality and productivity in terms of the use of these applications. If you turn that off, it’s not acceptable. If you had a lousy standard its ok. But, once you have set a good standard with MPLS, now you need to move that application to an equally good standard, even when you went SaaS. And it’s one of our big customers. They have been our customer for two years now. Year and a half, and probably about 10,000 users in China, Israel, France, and so on, use our network. Just the same problem.

Andrew Pryfogle: What’s really key about this is that people might make this mistake, this is not just some unique technology that you layer on top of the Internet. But, there is some cool secret sauce that you use. There is a core global private network that’s in the middle of all this, that you connect people to. Talk about the difference there.

Ashwath Nagaraj: Think of it this way, I mean you could have a freeway into your house, you could build another freeway to the next house. What we do, is we bring a freeway system to which you can connect and on ramp, the on ramp being the Internet, flexible. The freeway is rigid. But on the other hand it’s fast. So, we put all these PoPs around the world, we bring a point of presence within a 20 or 30 may be 40 millisecond from your office. Give you a short hop on a flexible Internet connection. The long haul stays on a core private network, and fundamentally the value that we bring with this network. We layered on software on top of that, the software that makes everything agile and flexible. So, you want to have 10 megabits today, and then you want to go to a 100 megabits subscription tomorrow. It’s just a dial and it happens in seconds. You want to add a cloud service, it’s just another button added on, and now you are connected to the cloud service. So, the platform consists of a core private network, points of presence around the world, and software running on what you call COTS, that is basically off the shelf hardware.   We just use X86 servers.

We are trying to change the whole model of building custom everything. You own a network, what do you do? You go to MPLS, what is MPLS? You look at the service providers, they go to Cisco and Juniper, they buy these boxes, and now they want to add a service, they buy other boxes, and they actually physically connect them. So, they are doing things on a per user, per customer basis. We need to move to a model where every service runs on top of software platform where third parties can develop their own service.

You have a vendor who says, look we have great remote access solution. Great, deploy it around the world on an Aryaka platform, and offer that service to any enterprise who wants mobile/road warriors to have great access into their network. That’s the power of a platform, enabling new services to come-in and it’s exactly the way the cloud has gone. So, this is truly the cloud model of the network. Let’s put it that way. Right? Access, flexibility, performs like traditional, rigid stuff people are happy with and can grow in time with new services.

Andrew Pryfogle: I have a daughter that’s in college, and growing up I used to tell her every day as she left the house going to school, I said honey, change the world, no pressure. Do you feel like this is the kind of service that is so disruptive when it comes to wide area networks, this is a game changer? I mean you guys are really changing how the networks can be deployed. The impact of that can be huge.

Ashwath Nagaraj: Absolutely. And that’s what’s fun about it, right?   I mean it’s a lot of fun, and the real barrier is not whether it should be there, but it is just back to the ASP model, back in the late 90s right. It’s a mindset change. You have people who are used to the iron they bought. They have made these decisions, they have locked in capital, they have locked in investments. And you have to change their minds to say, hey it’s happening anyway. Are you on it or not? And to get it, has taken a few years. But, now it is starting to happen. It’s a rolling stone, I mean it’s really picking up.

Andrew Pryfogle: Very cool stuff! What a compelling story, I’m so excited to hear about how you guys are solving real problems in the wide area network with this next generation stuff that absolutely is a game changer. Check them out guys! Aryaka. There you go! Good selling!

x
Tips for IT Management

10 Tips for IT Management

How to Thrive During an Economic Downturn

Download Report >>